Canadian delegates at the first SKA Key Science Workshop, held in Stockholm, Sweden, in August 2015. From left: Prof Bryan Gaensler (University of Toronto), Dr Doug Johnstone (National Research Council), Prof Jeroen Stil (University of Calgary), Dr Tim Robishaw (National Research Council), Dr Michael Rupen (National Research Council), Prof Greg Sivakoff (University of Alberta), Prof Kristine Spekkens (Royal Military College).

PHOTO BY: Bryan Gaensler


SKA Organisation Board of Directors

Canada appoints two representatives to the SKA Organisation Board of Directors. The current Canadian SKA Directors are:

Voting Member:
Dr. Michael Rupen
(NRC Herzberg)


Science Director:
Prof Kristine Spekkens
(Royal Military College of Canada)


Towards the SKA Observatory

Canada appoints an Observer to the Council Preparatory Task Force, the interim body that is tasked with making all of the preparations necessary for the first meeting of the SKA Council, which will be the permanent governing body of the SKA Observatory. The current Canadian CPTF Observer is:

CPTF Observer:
Dr. Luc Simard
(NRC Herzberg)


ACURA Advisory Council on the SKA (AACS)

The Association of Canadian Universities for Research in Astronomy (ACURA) provides national coordination for Canadian activities and discussion on the SKA through the ACURA Advisory Council on the SKA (AACS). AACS operates under terms of reference established by ACURA, and meets 3-4 times per year. 

The responsibilities of AACS include:

  • Promoting and advancing Canadian participation in the SKA
  • Ensuring Canadian scientific leadership in the SKA
  • Coordination among universities, NRC and industry in SKA pre-construction and construction activities
  • Advice on strategic development of SKA technology by Canadian industry

The current membership of AACS is:

  • Julie Hlavacek-Larrondo (Université de Montréal)
  • Doug Johnstone (NRC)
  • Gilles Joncas (Université Laval)
  • Erik Rosolowsky (University of Alberta)
  • Gregory Sivakoff (University of Alberta)
  • Kristine Spekkens (Royal Military College)
  • David Stevens (MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates)
  • Stefi Baum (ACURA Board Chair; non-voting)
  • Sara Ellison (CASCA President; non-voting)
  • Don Brooks (ACURA Executive Director; non-voting)
  • Michael Rupen (NRC; observer)
  • Luc Simard (NRC; observer)
  • Russ Taylor (University of Cape Town & University of Western Cape; observer)
  • John Hutchings (Long Range Plan Implementation Committee; observer)

Other International Activities

Canadian astronomers participate in 11 of the 13 SKA Science Working Groups and Focus Groups, and serve on the SKA Organisation’s Science and Engineering Advisory Committee (SEAC). Canadians are also actively engaged in the development of the SKA Regional Centres (SRCs) through participation in the SRC Steering Committee (SRCSC) and the SRC Working Groups.