Canadian delegates at the first SKA Key Science Workshop, held in Stockholm, Sweden, in August 2015. From left: Prof Bryan Gaensler (University of Toronto), Dr Doug Johnstone (National Research Council), Prof Jeroen Stil (University of Calgary), Dr Tim Robishaw (National Research Council), Dr Michael Rupen (National Research Council), Prof Greg Sivakoff (University of Alberta), Prof Kristine Spekkens (Royal Military College).

PHOTO BY: Bryan Gaensler


SKA Observatory Council Observers

Canada appoints two representatives to the SKA Observatory Council. The current Observers are:

Council Observer:
Dr. Michael Rupen
(NRC Herzberg)


Council Observer:
Dr. Luc Simard
(NRC Herzberg)

Canadian SKA Science Director

Science Director:
Prof Kristine Spekkens
(Royal Military College of Canada)


ACURA Advisory Council on the SKA (AACS)

The Association of Canadian Universities for Research in Astronomy (ACURA) provides national coordination for Canadian activities and discussion on the SKA through the ACURA Advisory Council on the SKA (AACS). AACS operates under terms of reference established by ACURA, and meets 3-4 times per year. 

The responsibilities of AACS include:

  • Promoting and advancing Canadian participation in the SKA
  • Ensuring Canadian scientific leadership in the SKA
  • Coordination among universities, NRC and industry in SKA pre-construction and construction activities
  • Advice on strategic development of SKA technology by Canadian industry

The current membership of AACS is:

  • Bryan Gaensler (University of Toronto)
  • Yashar Hezaveh (Université de Montréal)
  • Doug Johnstone (NRC)
  • Gilles Joncas (Université Laval)
  • Gregory Sivakoff (University of Alberta)
  • Kristine Spekkens (Royal Military College)
  • David Stevens (MDA)
  • Kim Venn (ACURA Board Chair; non-voting)
  • Rob Thacker (CASCA President; non-voting)
  • Don Brooks (ACURA Executive Director; non-voting)
  • Michael Rupen (NRC; observer)
  • Luc Simard (NRC; observer)
  • Russ Taylor (University of Cape Town & University of Western Cape; observer)

Other International Activities

Canadian astronomers participate in 11 of the 13 SKA Science Working Groups and Focus Groups, and serve on the SKA Organisation’s Science and Engineering Advisory Committee (SEAC). Canadians are also actively engaged in the development of the SKA Regional Centres (SRCs) through participation in the SRC Steering Committee (SRCSC) and the SRC Working Groups.